Meet the Hotel School Board

OVERSIGHT: Members of the Cape Town Hotel School Management Board Assist in the overall management and direction of the academic and restaurant plan of the Hotel School.

The Cape Town Hotel School is one of the country’s leading culinary schools and central to its success is its management board.

The board is composed of CPUT staff and captains of the Hospitality and Tourism Industry.

The board is chaired by its longest serving member, Jeff Rosenberg, who is also the General Manager of the Waterfront’s Southern Sun Hotel.

Notwithstanding the vacancy following the resignation of the university’s council chairperson, the board has the following 12 members:

Rosenberg, Thembisile Molose, Hotel School director, Willem Lotter, Acting Dean: Faculty of Business and Management Sciences, Prof Ed Snyders (Senate Representative), Prof Anthony Staak, DVC: Teaching and Learning, Registrar Nikile Ntsababa, Mandisa Silo, Head of School: Sport Events Tourism and Hospitality Management, Peter Du Plessis Executive Director: Finance, Athi Majija, Manager: Secretariat and industry board members Itumeleng Pooe, Benjamin Memani and Bruce McKay.

The board’s functions include establishing a constitution for the Hotel School for submission to, and ratification by, the CPUT council and approving the Hotel School academic and restaurant plan, provided that the academic component of the plan is ratified by the senate.

Among other things, it also assists in the overall management and direction of the academic and restaurant plan of the Hotel School and advises on policy on matters pertaining to the aims and objectives of the Hotel School.

Besides the above functions, the board approves budgets, financial statements, analyses forecasts and approves expenditure subject to the rules guiding such decisions.



Leave a Comment